Sugar, Fat and Salt by Michael Moss: A Book Review

I always thought I was naturally lazy so when I heard that people have limited supplies of willpower, everything made sense. Because I have such an uncontrollable attachment to sweets, I didn’t expect this book to make an impact. But I was wrong.

It’s not like everything I learned from this book was novel. As I read it, snippets from newspaper articles, conversations and websites swarmed my mind, so there were as many ‘oh!’ moments as there were ‘oh I remember that!’ moments. This time, however, the facts were harder to ignore. The words were right in front of my face and they constantly reminded me that I chose to read this book. If that was not enough, the author repeats the facts a lot, which relentlessly hammered them into my brain. It was not as repetitive as it was necessary; this way, I never had to flip back to remember something nor did the information’s outstanding clarity dull with time.

In all seriousness, this book changed my lifestyle- I am going to omit the ‘dramatically’ before the ‘changed’. Before, I could not stop eating sweets no matter how much I exercised my self-control. This book was not so much a miracle worker as it was a wake-up slap that opened my eyes to what goes into the food I eat and what else lies behind the pretty packaging. My eating patterns have completely changed and I do not even feel like I am using any of my willpower reserves; this is because this book caused a shift in my head. I can therefore affirm that sometimes, just knowing is enough for change to happen. Different from disturbing fast food truths that you will make you reconsider your lunch, the facts in this book aims to illuminate, not frighten.

In regards to the book itself, it was a good read that was not bogged down with unnecessary terminology. This book was written with a clear purpose: to inform. With a clear and crisp writing style, and detailed research, this book does just that. The last chapter leaves the resounding message, reminding yourself that ultimately, you have the power to make decisions and no amount of intensive advertising can take that away from you. Remember, the supermarket’s worst nightmare is an informed shopper.

Day 13 of the Daily Post: Ripped from the Headlines (I have no idea why an article from 2 months ago showed up on the headline)

One thought on “Sugar, Fat and Salt by Michael Moss: A Book Review

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ripped from the Headlines | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

